Ovum 15 for 15

Josh Winks legendary label just turned 15. After releasing a couple of trance anthems straight out of his bedroom studio, the man with the blond dreads started the Ovum Records together with his partner in crime Dj King Britt. The year was 1994 and the place was the city of Philadelphia. The 1995 releases Don’t Laugh, Liquid Summer and Higher State of Conciousness all went to the tops of dancefloor charts. Since then, the label has been frequently spitting out sophisticated tracks for the massives. Ranging from Trance and Acid House back in the nineties to Deep house and Techno in the later “commercial” years.

The anniversary album contains for the most label’s more recent releases. Such as the 2010 Beatport deep house track of the year Josh Wink – Jus Right (Jimpster Remix). But also a few forgotten treasures from the 90’s like David Alvarados’ Klugh.

Raise your hands in the air chanting “The Drums, The Drums!


01. Steve Bug – Summer Nights
02. Kink – E79
03. Shlomi Aber – Freakside (Original)
04. Nic Fanciulli & Steve Mac – 10%
05. Josh Wink – Superfreak (Freak) (Original)
06. David Alvarado – Klugh
07. Loco Dice – Flight LB7475
08. Gregor Tresher – 95 Days
09. Harry Choo Choo Romero – Phuture (Joris Voorn Remix)
10. Josh Wink – Jus Right (Jimpster Remix)
11. Chymera – Umbrella
12. Luca Bacchetti – Caribbean
13. Rulers Of The Deep – Track One (Dedicated To DJ Dozia)
14. D’julz – Just So You Know (Original)
15. Davide Squillace – Sukkin Mutik

Full Release

Peace out!


P.S. Some pieces of music history

Josh Wink – Higher State of Consciousness (1995)

Josh Wink – Don’t Laugh (1995)

Josh Wink – Liquid Summer (1995)

Possibly related posts:

About Alex Esser:

DJ, surfer and entrepreneur residing in Malmö, Sweden. HMWL label daddy. My music network is always open. Holler at alex@hmwl.org